Importing Pages files with images

Hello, newbie here!

I have dozens of Mac Pages files with many images and tables. I understand that to get the text into Scrivener I have to export the files from Pages to .docx format. My question - is there an easy way to strip out the images etc automatically prior to export to .doxc or import of the .docx file into Scrivener?

You mention “and etc”; does that mean you don’t need the rest of the formatting? If so, then one approach would be to export as .txt from Pages, not .docx. The text would be imported into Scrivener using your default formatting settings—and so in most cases it would look nice without and adjustments.

Many thanks for your response and advice. You are correct I don’t need the formatting, images, tables etc I plan to add these back in later in a proper page layout program.

I tried exporting as .txt file, I can see the text in the file in Preview but it is missing when imported to Scrivener. I also tried export as a .rtfd file, this imported OK but did not strip out the images etc.

I’m sure there is a simple solution to this and I can’t be the only one with this problem. Will keep looking, thanks again.

There’s something wrong here. Preview won’t even open open text files, only image files including pdf. Somewhere between Word and Scrivener something is going ascrew vis a vis the format of the file.

Will Word allow you to Save As rtf (not rtfd) and strip out the images?

Hmm, yeah ScriverTid makes a good point, plain-text files shouldn’t be opening in Preview. Just to make sure we’re on the same page, from Pages:

1. Use the File/Export To/Plain Text… menu command.
  2. Click the Next button.
  3. Choose a “filename.txt”.
  4. Drop the “filename.txt” into a Scrivener project binder.