Importing RTF to Scrivener: only from Word?

Hello,

I’m new to the forum, and I’ve been using Scrivener only for a few months now. I’m a writer, but I’m also an academic editor, and I’m trying to create a good workflow for our editing. We mainly work with digital documents, that have to be revised by multiple readers. Each of them writes their own comments, sometimes using text tools (like color change) or comments tools.

So, in order to trully put Scrivener to a real test, I’m importing some mid-production projects. I started by importing the documents to Scrivener, in order to divide them into more manageable chunks.

My experience, so far is this: although Scrivener can import .doc and .odt documents, it alters its original formatting: bullets, margins, text size… everything is a mess.

Since RTF is the best format for Scrivener, I opened my .doc documents and exported them to RTF. I used Neo Office, Pages and Mariner Write. The result was chaotic. None of them was able to export correctly neither the text format, nor the comments.

This morning I came into my Windows workstation (I only have Mac at home) and opened the same .doc documents, this time using Windows Microsoft Word 2007, and exported them as RTF. I imported them to Scrivener and this time, when I opened them, they were almost perfect: margins, text size… and all comments in their place. I’m still having problems with complex tables, but that’s a minor bug compared to the rest.

I would like to know if you have discussed this before, if I’m right when I say that the only good RTF are the ones that come directly from Microsoft Word, or if there’s any chance that I can export good complex RTF from Neo Office or Pages. I’m asking this because I categorically refuse to buy a Microsoft Word licence only to export RTF.

Thank you.

Pages is terrible when it comes to RTF - Pages is designed almost solely for those who want to exchange documents with Word users or not at all.