Importing

Hi -
I’m just beginning to use Scrivener and setting up a first project after reading through the basic tutorial. The first thing I wanted to do is import a number of documents relevant to the project which had previously been standalone disconnected documents, so that they’re collected together in the research folder ready for me to cut and paste into the draft area.

From the tutorial this seemed a straightforward thing to do, with Scrivener able to recognise a number of formats, including MS Word and pdf files. However, I’m having some difficulty with this and hope you can let me know if I’m doing something wrong:

Importing a Word document into the research folder gives me a document which starts with a couple of smudgy, but otherwise blank pages. It then goes on to include most of the text with frequent blank smudgy areas. This document did originally include graphics (mostly screenshots) and other formatting such as highlighting.

I thought maybe Scrivener would deal with this better if I converted it to a pdf file. Indeed it does, it seems happy with the formatting mentioned above. However, when I try to copy text and paste it into the draft folders I end up with all spaces removed, like this:

Obviously this isn’t satisfactory. So I’m not sure where to go from here. The tutorial seemed to indicate that collecting other materials together in the research folder was the way to use it. I would be quite happy to have the documents simply listed in the research folder and for them to open up in their original applications if that’s a better way to do it.

Regards, Steve.

Hi Steve,