"Include in compile" checked by default in metadata

Hi!

I’ve noticed that on the metadata tab in the inspector, “include in compile” is checked by default on all the folders and documents in my project (including character sketches, places, etc.), but these documents are still not included in the statistics or when I press compile. How come they’re all checked by default, I thought only the manuscript would be?

I’m pretty new to Scrivener, I did do the tutorial, but am probably still missing a lot!

Thanks!

/Nora

Hi,

The basic default compilation is ‘Everything in Manuscript / Draft’ + anything you specifically add as Front and/or Back Matter. So having the default New Document template have ‘Compile’ ticked by default is a good idea. If the new document is under Draft, you’ll probably want to compile it; if it’s not in draft, the tick box will be ignored anyway.

You can arrange to compile documents outside the draft folder, but to do that, you use the Compilation dialogue itself (right hand side, under the Compile dropdown list you can choose Draft, or Current Selection, or one of your collections/saved searches.

You can alter the scope of the calculated statistics under Project > Statistics > Options. For example, if you wanted to count all the words in ‘Included’ documents anywhere in the project (i.e. both in and outside the Drafts folder) you could click in the binder and press cmd-a (so all documents are selected), then Project > Statistics > Option > Count Only Documents Marked For Inclusion: the results will be on the ‘Selected Documents’ tab.

HTH.

Thanks! I got confused about every document being ticked as “include in compile” even when they weren’t in the manuscript/draft, like the character sketches or research folder. I wasn’t sure if I had to go through and manually untick this in all of them, but if they’re just ignored anyway I’ll just leave them as they are.

Thank you!

You’re very welcome!