InDesign CS5 and Scrivener

I hope someone can help the newbie - I am about to purchase Scrivener for mac OS X and need some help understanding what and why Scrivener will help me within my art.
I am an illustrator, non-linear thinker, using CS5 inDesign et.al.
My question is:
How does Scrivener interface with inDesign?
Do you import the Scrivener pages/ Draft folder into inDesign to create a pdf?

I am a graphic designer/illustrator and am looking at illustrating and writing children’s books, as well as exploring other formats for illustration.
The goal is to create a publication, with all my scattered images and thoughts and then to create a pdf to send to publishers.

This looks like a great program, and I thank you.

Last time I checked, the best way to work with these two programs is to expect very little by way of integration. Pretty much: do your original composition and revisions in Scrivener—using placeholder images if that helps your creative process (but don’t expect them to convey to ID)—then compile out to RTF and import the whole thing as you would any large text file into InDesign, and from that point on you’ll be leaving the Scrivener project alone, save for any notes and auxiliary material you want to have handy. For writing, further revisions, and final design, it will all be in InDesign.

Hopefully someone more familiar with ID can step in and add some tips that I am unaware, but the last time we had a thread on this topic, it was either what I just described above, or with some scripting tricks if I recall. Here is a link to that thread.

This is a very comprehensive thread, thanks for that. And your answer, too. I can set up text boxes to then “place” the Scrivener text into, yes? Am I thinking this the right way?
–using placeholder images if that helps your creative process (but don’t expect them to convey to ID
If they don’t convey to ID:
I guess the best question I need to ask is, how do you publish from Scrivener?