Inserting image as a tag causes file bloat because the image is inserted multiple times

I’m relatively new to Scrivener so I may be taking the wrong approach; please let me know how to handle the case in which the same image is re-used multiple times.

I am trying to include a text bubble conversation in my ebook. Next to each person speaking in the conversation, I want to place a cartoon head (image).

To do this, I created a custom Project Format, and I created a paragraph style for each person in the conversation. I then used the Compile Styles menu to add the styles for each person; to these styles, I added an image via the prefix option. For example: <$Img:Tiger> .

When I compile the book, the images now show up as I want them to-- great!

However, each time I add a conversation, the compiled book’s file size increases dramatically-- for example, I added 20 lines of dialog and the book’s file size increased by 400 kb. So, it appears that Scrivener is inserting the image for each speaker each time an image tag appears, rather than linking all uses of a single image to one file. (The image of the speaker shows up with each line of dialog.)

This is very wasteful and causes the book file to be much bigger than it should be. What’s the right way to insert an image so that it can be used again and again within a file without increasing the file size?

EDIT: Yes, it’s definitely the case that the image is being duplicated each time it is inserted. I tried exporting as ePUB and opened the file in Sigil, which shows “Tiger.jpg” “Tiger1.jpg” “Tiger2.jpg” and so on, one for each usage.

Hmm, strange, I cannot reproduce this - for me only one image file is created when I try this. Would it be possible to set up a sample project showing the issue, zip it up and attach it to your reply here (using “Attachments” below the reply area)? Alternatively, could you zip up your existing project and send it to us at mac.support AT literatureandlatte.com?

Thanks and all the best,