Inspector request, especially URLs in references

I’m brand new to Scrivener, like it a lot.

I use a lot of URL references in my work and am attempting to use the References area of the Inspector.

The Inspector area would work much better as a floating palette. Currently I’m having to resize the window and the pane to give enough screen real estate for the References area. There’s no horizontal scrolling available.

With Safari 2.0.4 I can’t drag from the toolbar into References (the online FAQ says the opposite). On the other hand I can copy and paste a URL. However the URL in the References area can’t be clicked, only copy and paste into a browser.

I suspect these limitations are already known, but mentioning them anyway.

Kind regards,

Hi Morley,

In some early iterations of Scrivener I did play with the idea of the inspector being a pallette. In fact, I spent weeks writing my own code for tear-off palettes such as the one in Mellel (the code is now freely available on the “Free Stuff” section of the website, in fact).

However, in the end I decided I preferred a single-window interface, and I’m happy with that decision. I really wouldn’t like the inspector to be floating as I like it where it is. (Hmm, I suppose I could see a distant future where the inspector is a floating palette if Scrivener ever has multiple windows… With a floating binder, too… But only in the very distant future. :slight_smile: )

As for the references - hmm, you should be able to drag from Safari’s URL into the references; it certainly works for me. It depends how you are doing it, though - you have to drag the icon in the left part of Safari’s URL text field into the references table, and not the text in the URL field itself.

Also, you just double-click on the Safari icon in the references table to open the URL in your browser. (Clickable links inside a Cocoa table are strangely more complicated than they should be, otherwise I would have made the URL clickable too.)