Interactive tutorial

Last week I bought a MacBook Pro AND Scrivener 2. The combined learning curves now feel really quite like a K12 ascent–on the windy side–as I’ve never worked on any Apple products before.

I’m working my way through the Interactive tutorial, which suggests that that process shouldn’t take much more than 1 to 1-1/2 hours.

4 hours into the tutorial and I’m only half way through, primarily because I just can’t seem to find some of the icons referenced, and that’s because in the Tutorial, the Scrivener tool bar doesn’t appear, so I wander around trying to figure out what to do.

I started a parallel project to try to bypass this issue, which does let me see the Scrivener toolbar, but I must be doing something wrong. A couple of stumblers I’ve had:

1. In Draft, in a file (doc?) I created, I see the “View Mode” but I can’t get it to switch to “Group Mode”. Is this because I haven’t made a “Group”, or only have that 1 doc?

2. Impossible to follow all of the tutorial instructions, for example, in Part 2: Organisation where it says to click “Part 2: Organisation” in the binder, then go to “Documents>Convert>To File” in main menu, but there is no Scrivener tool bar from which to choose Documents.

I know it’s me, premature onset senile dementia, because my 18 y/o son got the same Mac and a $450+ hideously complicated musicians’ app and he was working/playing/composing within 30 minutes after he installed it even though it was his first Mac experience.

This is freaking me out because I haven’t had time to write for several days and I’m on a deadline, but I KNOW if I can just grock it, my writer’s life will immensely improve and I can work much more quickly with my mountains of research.

Thanks for any help, but, please be kind…

(I haven’t felt this incompetent since I sat down 22 years ago in front of my first PC.)