Introduction or Preface?

I’m fairly new to Scrivener, and new to these boards (hi!). I hope this is the right place to post my question.

So, Scrivener comes with templates that helpfully automatically put in your chapter numbers and write “chapter one” or “chapter two” or whatever at the top. This is good. Well, it is good until it isn’t. What do you (I) do if you want to include a forward, introduction, or preface? For that matter, the same question applies for an acknowledgement or a dedication. You know, something that comes before chapter one, and does not get a chapter number, or the word chapter added.

Thanks!

Yes, this is a bit of a limitation at the moment. There are ways you can get around this right now by taking advantage of how prefixing works. Briefly, you can supply a prefix to a level of document as well as a type. So a file icon can have one prefix, where a folder can have another, and meanwhile a file on level two of the outline can have another prefix entirely. In this way we can create templates such as the Novel with Parts template, that handles top level folders as Parts in the book, but all folders two and greater as Chapters.

So you’d take that idea and apply it to files. Right now the template settings you’ve been provided with consider a top-level file to be a chapter. This because many people like to just use files for chapters, especially if the chapters are quite short and do not need sub-file treatment (or that is just what they are used to). So the template catches that common way of working and goes with it intuitively. Unfortunately that decision also means a top-level file called “Preface” also gets treated as a chapter. The solution is to remove the prefix from level 1 files in the compile Formatting option pane, but leaving the Title checkbox ticked (so that “Preface” is still visible).