Ipad Sync

Hi

Apologies - this is very basic - I am confused over synchronising with IPad.

I am using Textilus to draft my text. I am new to Scrivener and Dropbox.

I want to be able to write on either program and for the changes to be synchronised in the Dropbox Scrivener folder … so that if I add or edit text in Textilus it appears automatically in Scrivener - and vice versa.

So far Scrivener appears to have over-ridden edits in Textilus and an outdated version prevails - there are errors in my procedure which may account for this

No doubt I will have to wrestle with this a little longer until I “get it” - but I would be very grateful if someone would confirm that what I want to do is possible and that I haven’t misunderstood the fundamental nature of the synchronisation facility.

Even though Textilus uses RTF, I think you still have to use the Scrivener feature ‘sync with external folder’ rather than trying to access your Scrivener Dropbox folder from Textilus on the iPad. I tested Textilus only a little, so, I don’t feel I am an authority here, but this seems to me your problem. If you use ‘sync with external folder’ in Scrivener, and then you access the external folder with Textilus, it should work.

Thanks so much for your help Marcolac!

Yes, I have been using the “sync with external folder” so that end ought to be ok.

With the encouragement your post provided, I have now managed to make edits in both programs and sync them each way - until multiple versions put out by Scrivener caused a hiccup at the Textilus end.

It could be that I have made a procedural error so I am going to scrap the current project and try again.

Meanwhile if anyone has some light to shed on this issue I would be very glad to know