Is FileMaker totally useless?

I’ve been terribly frustrated by my FileMaker Pro 7. Can it not search and replace null? I tried writing a simple calculation (adding 30 days to a calendar date for a tickler file) and I can’t do it. It simply tells me I have an error, but I copied something from an online tutorial, so it can’t be my grammar, or something.

I can make Access do anything I want, and I have years of writing Superbase applications behind me, but for some reason FileMaker makes me want to bang my head on the keyboard.

I’m planning applications like something to track where I’ve sent things and what happened next, so maybe I should just get a prefab program? I’ll take suggestions on that, too.

I’ve been used to writing my own applications, but FileMaker is so terribly frustrating I’m ready to write it off.

Any help, or even commiseration, greatly appreciated.

I’ve been using Filemaker for about 20 years, and I’ve usually found that if there was something I couldn’t do, it was because I hadn’t yet learned the correct technique. :slight_smile:

Since you’re using an older version, I’m not sure how or if they would translate, but filemaker.com has a lot of resources available at no charge, including contacts, project tracking, etc. databases ready for download. There are also links there to quite a few other free templates for contact info and project tracking for older versions, but you’d have to do some hunting. Any of those could get your database up and running more quickly than starting from scratch.

If you’d rather use your Access skills, the free NeoOffice http://www.neooffice.org/ includes an Access clone.

For a ready-to-go solution, MarketCircle’s Daylite is splendid, though a bit pricey.

Search for empty fields by entering an equals sign in the field in Find mode.

myDate + 30 in a calculation will do what you want provided you’re setting the result of the calculation (popup at the bottom of the window) to Date.