Is Scrivener the right tool for a 'vbook'?

Hello all, first post here.

I am a published author (my publisher is Simon & Schuster) and I have three books out in the public domain so far. These have lots of photos, illustrations, and text. My books are self-help, and are accompanied by separate DVDs.

As we all know the publishing landscape has changed far faster than the publishers over the last 10 years or so, so I want to self publish my next book. The MS is written; all photographs and illustrations made, and only some additional videos are needed.

My question is, basically, is Scrivener the best choice for my next book, a downloadable vbook that will have embedded video, photos and illustrations, and text? I have only watched two or three of the tutorials so far and I have also been through the on-screen tutorial too. This cursory examination suggests that Scrivener is very text-oriented and that making spaces for embedded video and photographs will be more difficult—or am I completely mistaken here?

From what I have seen so far Scrivener will be a huge step up from TextEdit (which is what I’ve written my last three books in) for the writing side of the projects. And with the published books, we then used QuarkXPress (for the first book) and then InDesign for the next two to do the final steps of assembling text, Illustrations and photographs. It is this latter step (laying up in a second program) that I am trying to avoid—it would be much simpler if I could do this rough layout myself. One of the reasons is that there are literally two thousand photographs and fifty videos, and even to make a simple list of image names and put them into the text at the right places is a major piece of work. It would be much easier to be able to place a thumbnail of the picture itself, ideally complete with EXIF data; this would make the final assembly easier, especially if done by another person.