Is there a way to externally tell scrivener to sync?

I’m a programmer working on writing, and am just getting into scrivener. I’m wondering if there is any way for other programmers to tell scrivener to sync? In an ideal world, I’d like to be able to connect my metadata and contents from the inspector to external apps and tools that I hack up in python. My understanding is that they can read the scrivener files and do what they will, and that when I re-enter scrivener I must ask for a sync. I’m hoping I can automate this somehow.

thanks
iain

Are you directly editing the Scrivener project files, or are you editing files from Scrivener’s External Folder?

The first is completely unsupported and presents a very high risk of data corruption, for example if you break the connection between Scrivener’s master index file and the actual contents of the project. On the other hand, since you’re working directly with the live project, no synchronization step is needed.

If you’re using the External Folder feature, Scrivener will automatically check the external folder for changes when you load the project. You should only need to sync manually if the project was open when the external changes were made.

Katherine

Thanks Katherine. To clarify, I’m hoping there is some way to programmatically tell an open scrivener project to sync, so that if a helper app is open at the same time one can do make an external change and have it reflected in scrivener right away.

Sync with what?
I think you need to clarify what you mean.

Scrivener automatically saves any changes made to the project every few seconds, i.e. it saves those files that are affected. “Sync with external folder” means that Scrivener exports the text parts of a project to another folder as .rtf files, and import them again to the project the next time you open the project in Scrivener.

So exactly what is it you want to do?