Is there a way to markup index-terms and generate an index?

Sorry if the answer is obvious … I’m somewhat new to latex/mmd/scrivener combination.

Thanks - Sophie

The MMD Syntax Guide has a section on glossaries. A note of warning: Most of the sorting tools bundled with TeX (as in bibtex or makeindex) do not allow the sorting of Unicode data. If you want to sort non-english material, you should have a look at xindy. IIRC, it’s already included in the all new MacTeX 2008.

There is not currently a shortcut to create an index using MMD and LaTeX. You can use the usual indexing syntax for LaTeX.

I have thought about implementing something, but to be honest, every idea I have had would end up feeling somewhat “half-baked”.

You can create custom XSLT to generate indexes for certain elements. For example, I created an XSLT to generate an index from first lines in a poetry collection.

F-

Does latex markup in the scrivener document get passed through? Any rules to follow?

Thanks

fletcherpenney.net/multimarkdown/faq/

In scrivener, I’m currently adding index entries by putting them above or below the text in the scrivening:

<!-- \index{guitar} -->
<!-- \index{Marshal} -->

It's *always* fun to play the guitar in a big room, especially when plugged into a huge Marshal head!

I’ve only done a couple, and I don’t like it much. I’m thinking that I might introduce my own MMD syntax to do this. Perhaps something like:

It's always fun to play the :guitar in a big room, especially when plugged into a huge :Marshall head!

This would then create the index entries for ‘guitar’ and ‘marshal’. Of course, I’d have to update the MMD code + XSLT to detect this syntax and handle it for LaTeX, XHTML etc.

This might also result in incorrect page numbers, depending on how TeX inserts the page breaks.