Is there any danger in putting a long series in one project?

Hi,
I found out about Scrivener by an author mentioning it in a podcast. Piquing my interest, I looked up the software and immediately saw the outrageous potential of the program.
My first book is already at 200,000 words, and I’m not even finished with the first draft yet, while my worldbuilding notes easily exceed that number, not even mentioning the outlines for further books. What really attracted me to Scrivener, was the opportunity to put everything in one place. That is to have each book be a folder in one project, with bracketed links to cross reference all the details of the background collections into a kind of wiki, in an effort to keep track of everything.
My question; is there any danger in amassing nearly half a million words into a single project, as a start… Pertaining to backing up purposes. Is there any chance files could be lost?
I’m really new to this, so any advice on how to navigate would be appreciated.

Others can speak with more authority than I, but here is my take-away on this question.

First, assuming you have good computer backup practices, no piece of software can rob you of you stuff. But if you care about your writing, then no matter what software you use, you need to maintain good back up practices – not because of Scrivener, mind you, but just because.