Issues related to the project search

Hello,

I’m quite new in the world of scrivener and there are a few things I don’t fully understand when I use the project search feature:

1- Why am I unable to search in the whole set of PDF documents I have imported in my project ? It seems that unlike plain text documents, PDFs are not indexed and thus not searchable, is that correct ?

2- After having performed a project search I sometimes have results in large plain text documents. When I click on the name of the doc from the search result pane, I’m taken to the first hit inside the doc but I am then unable to navigate to the next hits found in that document (in order to get this functionality the only way I found was to open the regular document search, re-enter my search criteria and press F3 to navigate form hits to hits). Is there a way to solve this ?

Best regards,
djib

We’re not able to index the PDFs with the tools we have currently, so their text isn’t included in a project search. You can search within a given PDF by right-clicking on it in the editor and using the Find option from the context menu there. I like to use keywords, document notes, or the synopsis in the inspector to manually give imported PDFs some “hooks” for a project search–key terms in the document, or at least the key terms for why I imported it in the first place, so that when I’m searching for all my stuff on “TIE fighters” later, the PDF will come up in the list.