Issues with an old document

I have a story I’ve been writing off and on for about 15 years. For much of that time, I’ve used Scrivener, and with every Scrivener update, I’d update the story.

Now, it’s getting close to being finished, and I’m running into issues trying to compile.

When I compile it, formatting changes that don’t show in the document occur between paragraphs. In my document, each folder marks a chapter and is set as Chapter Heading. In the folder are 2 pages, the first a quote (italicized) to start the chapter, and the second is the story chapter.

It doesn’t seem to matter what the formatting says (each quote is a section, and each chapter is a chapter, but I’ve tried nearly every layout option… this is just the last one). Regardless of how I change it, it is still messed up when I try to compile.

I guess I should also say that it doesn’t matter how I change the formatting on my document either…I’ve tried to set formatting for the entire document, but nothing changes unless I select each page and change the formatting for that page. I’m guessing this is an issue caused by writing this story for a very long time through multiple versions of Scrivener.

Is there a way to fix this? I’m at a loss. Even trying to copy formatting to the entire document changes nothing.

To clarify, is each of these a document under the Chapter folder, or is this text inside the Chapter folder?

In what way in the Compiled document messed up? Text not appearing, not formatted as expected, etc?

If the text is all there and you’re willing to format by hand, the easiest thing would be to compile to .docx and open with a word processor and format by hand there. If all of your text isn’t compiling, then it’s a matter of getting the proper setup first, which will likely also resolve your formatting issues.

1 Like

To clarify, is each of these a document under the Chapter folder, or is this text inside the Chapter folder?

2022-03-11_17-15-04