Keyboard lag on Scrivener

Hi all,
I’ve been using Scrivener now for a couple of years and it is without doubt the best software I’ve ever bought! I’ve used it successfully for two novels and a short story and I continue to regret that I was not aware of its existence while doing my dissertation.

I’m experiencing a recurrent issue where the keyboard will become momentarily unresponsive before all the letters I’ve tried to type appear at once and it only occurs in Scrivener. There doesn’t seem to be common denominator in terms of apps, computer or system- I first observed this under Lion on a 2011 MBA and continue to see it on a 13" rMBP with Mountain Lion. I thought I remembered being told before that this was a bug in the App Store version of Scrivener so re downloaded directly from the site hoping for a fix. It still occurs. It is by no means a deal breaker, but it is annoying as it generally happens once or twice in every writing session. Any help or advice would be great!

Oh, and the size of the project doesn’t seem to matter either- I’ve seen this with all projects ranging from 7000 to 70,000 words.

I would suggest checking the autosave interval, which is on the Scrivener -> Preferences -> General pane. The default interval is very short, and so it’s possible for the autosave to try to activate during a natural pause, rather than during true “idle” time.

Katherine

There are a huge number of factors that might be at play. Here are a couple off the top of my head:

Do you keep a lot of web browser tabs open, or a lot of programs/documents loaded? Try quitting as many programs as you can stand or closing lots of browser windows/tabs. These things can take up too much RAM, making your computer unresponsive (a lot is either a few BIG ones, like running Windows 8 under Parallels, or having 30 or more windows/browser tabs open at once.)