KindleGen errors on compile

I’ve been using Scrivener for a few years, now; I’m currently using it on Vista as well as Windows 10.

Both machines are now not compiling to .mobi (Kindle) format; the Windows 10 machine has a fresh install of KindleGen. (I just went with the general Windows one, since there’s not one specifically for Win10.)

I get a screen generated by KindleGen that says errors occurred and spells out the processes – but it doesn’t give me solid info on where the problem is, and I haven’t changed compiling methods in a couple of years. I get a similar error on both computers. I’ve changed options around (add cover, remove cover, select different formatting, etc.) and Scrivener will compile in other formats (epub, docx) but not mobi.

Both machines running Scrivener have the latest release installed.

Help?

You might directly e-mail Literature and Latte’s tech support staff regarding this at literatureandlatte.com/support.php
They are back from Christmas break on Monday January 4th, as discussed here literatureandlatte.com/forum/vie … =1&t=33309

I’m wondering two things…

• Were there additional lines of compile results text? That perhaps got truncated (as I don’t see a scroll bar on the side of the results window)? The reason I ask, is that if I compile out to an .epub file and then manually run kindlegen in a command prompt window to compile the .epub into a .mobi, I get about twice that many lines, with the first half matching what is shown in your screenshot. See bottom of this message for a paste of what I get.

• Even with an error being reported, is there a chance that a .mobi file is still being produced?

A possible different angle would be to download and install the Kindle Previewer app from amazon.com/gp/feature.html?docId=1000765261