Left nav--not able to order things

Sorry if this isn’t a bug, or if it’s been posted… I went through a few pages in the forum, and wasn’t sure what I should search under exactly. I’ve been trying to move folders around in the left nav, and they keep not going where I want them. If I try to put something at the top, where you might want chapter 1 to go, it often jumps to the very bottom, or ends up as a sub-folder of the first folder. And if it winds up as a sub folder, it seems to be quite hard to get it back out. Also, if I want to create a Part I, and then have chapters, and then have scenes, the Part 1 seems to keep moving to the bottom, even beneath the research folder, and every time I try to move it back up, it jumps around somewhere where I don’t want it, either as a subfolder as something, or, again, to the bottom. This could be because I’m new to Scriv in general and not very good with it yet. But maybe it’s a bug and I should say something. Anyhow, it doesn’t seem to be working as easily as I’m used to in, say, Outlook, or OneNote. Maybe adding the ability to right-click and move that way would help? (Everything in Windows is right-clickable, so we’re all trained to expect that as a back-up if drag and drop misses the target.)

Thanks for listening in case this is a stupid user trick. :\

To clear things up, it LOOKS like the problem may have been that I didn’t click “included in draft” in the inspector for some of the files. Then they didn’t want to move around properly in the left-nav. At least that’s my theory. I’ll see if it holds up.

I didn’t click this because I was afraid this would mess things up on the compile. I assumed that if I included something in draft, like a folder that was just a container for subdocs… say, Part I, with no text of its own, that would be weird when it compiled. But maybe not. But I’m just figuring all this out and eventually I’ll be an expert. :slight_smile: