[LH467|Suggestion] Beta 16: Small problems with footnotes

I’m an academic writer, so my documents are usually long and have lots of footnotes. (They’re also usally boring, but I don’t expect Scrivener to fix that :smiley:) My first footnote problem occurs as soon as the inspector window is full of footnotes, as in this screenshot:

– as you can see, there are already more footnotes than can be displayed in the right-most window. When I add a new one, the list in the window doesn’t scroll, so the new footnote is hidden:

However, as soon as I paste the relevant reference into the new, blank footnote, the list scrolls and I can now see it:

Until I realised what was happening, I kept adding multiple, blank footnotes, thinking that the “Add footnote” command simply hadn’t worked.

I realise this is a small thing, but if there’s an easy fix, I’d be very grateful.

Also (while I’m riding my footnoting hobby horse):

• Please can we have shortcuts for common inspector commands (like “Add Footnote”): none of these appear in “Options | Keyboard”, so you can’t assign custom shortcuts to them?

• And please could existing shortcuts (like Ctrl-Shift-V, for paste and match style, etc.) work in the Inspector? It’s a real pain having to mouse over to menus and icons every time you want to, for example, italicise a word in a footnote.

Many thanks.

The issue with new comments not being shown in the inspector has been filed.

I’ve marked this thread for us to look at your suggestion of shortcuts for new comments/footnotes

The default shortcut for paste and match style works for me in Beta 16. Is it still not functioning for you?

Thanks!

Just tried the default shortcuts and they are working! Thanks. They definitely hadn’t been in earlier betas, so perhaps I just forget to re-test with beta 16. Thanks for filing the issue and for considering the shortcut possibility.