Line spacing discrepancy

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, and just dipping my toe into the deep waters of Scrivener… :smiley:

I’m the general tech help for my non-tech writer husband :open_mouth: and my query relates to something he did almost as soon as he started using Scrivener for the first time (today). I have done a search through the forum, and online, but I can’t find this specific problem anywhere. Apols if I’ve overlooked the answer.

He imported some text from MS Word on two separate occasions (probably from two different Word docs). He then found that there was a difference in line spacing in the two text fragments. At this point they were in one text section. I separated them into 2 sections and tried to adjust line spacing.

One was set at 1.0, the other at 1.5. Easy, I thought, and adjusted the 1.0 spaced-text to 1.5 (his preferred spacing). It adjusted, but not as much as it should have. I saw that line height on his preferred spacing was also set to ‘At least 16.0’. So I adjusted the other one. It didn’t make any discernible difference.

I can’t get the spacing to match unless I change inter-line spacing to 2.0. Which I don’t think is a good solution - all the text should have the same settings and look the same, right?

I’ve lined up both text fragments, and typed out a paragraph from the preferred text into the ‘unruly’ text, to make a like-for-like comparison (see attached). On the left is the unruly spacing, on the right is the preferred. They are both Helvetica Neue Regular 13.

So, as both settings are identical, can anyone point to why they don’t look identical?

Many thanks for your time!

One extremely easy way to implement formatting, when you have an example sitting in front of you, is to put your cursor in the paragraph that looks right, use the Format/Text/Copy Ruler menu command, place the cursor into the paragraph that looks wrong, and you guessed it, use the Format/Text/Paste Ruler command.