Linked comments

Hello,

I’ve been using Scrivener for a few months now, and am constantly learning new ways to use this program. It’s simply amazing!

A question about linked comments: In the manual it says at the beginning of chapter 17 that “Linked notes can be easily viewed together in a collected interface”.

In the Inspector I only see the notes for a certain text file. Even if I select several text files, I only see the notes for the current text. Is there a way to see all the notes for the entire document?

Thanks,
Treon

Thanks for the kind words! There’s no way at the moment to view collected notes across multiple documents, although that is planned for the next major version when we’ll be overhauling how the Scrivenings session works internally.

The comment in the manual is just referring to the fact that linked notes scattered throughout a single document are all stacked together in the inspector without reference to the distance between their anchor text. So if you have a lengthy document with a comment at the top, bottom, and one in the middle, you can view all three of the comments at once in the inspector without needing to scroll through the entire document the way you would in typical word processors. That can make them especially handy when you want to make a visible note to “insert table here” or create “bookmarks” for yourself to jump to parts of the document.