Linking Scrivener Project with Set of Associated Files on HD

Hi all,
I want to use Scivener as a manager’s master tool. I’m taking on an administrative position (department chair) and I’ve got a hierarchy of (mostly text) files related to that task. I’m thinking that Scrivener might be a good tool to use, especially if Scrivener has a parallel set of folders.

So, for example, ON MY HARD DRIVE: I have a master folder called CHAIRING DEPARTMENT and various subfolders beneath it (e.g. “Pedagogy”, “Personnel”, etc.). Meanwhile, IN MY SCRIVENER PROJECT: I’ve been setting up folders with the same names and hierarchy.

What I did next was DROP HARD DRIVE FOLDERS ONTO SCRIVENER FOLDERS.

Ok, so far so good. Scrivener does an import for what it could. Very cool–it’s searchable now and easy to browse.

Here’s my QUESTION: What happens when, for example, I get a new file on my hard drive that is not yet in Scrivener? Do I have to manually drop that new file into it’s appriate spot in Scrivener? Or, is it possible to “link” a Scrivener folder with one on my HD so that changes in the HD files system automatically result in an import of that file into its corresponding (“linked”) folder in Scrivener?

Do you see my point? If Scrivener could link permanently with the associated file-hierarchy on my HD, then when ever I made a change (e.g. added or created a file in my HD) it would go ahead and change the Scrivener project associated with that hierarchy.

What do you think? Is this doable?

Many thanks for your thoughts.

David

Sounds like Devonthink Pro is more what you need for this. You can set up DevonThink to scan certain folders so anything added to them is indexed within DevonThink (without duplication).