Linking text within two separate docs

Hi,

I’m a bit of a novice with Scrivener. I’m trying to link selected text from one document in my research folder to text in the main document. Is this possible? I’ve looked around but can’t find a solution to this.

Help is appreciated!

Thank you.

As far as I know, you cannot link text from within one document to text within another document. It seems as though you can only link a document OR text within a document to another document.

Yeah, you can only link to a document, not to text within that document. Possible solutions:
o Create an annotation (inline or inspector) and copy the text from the other document that you want to associate with your current document’s passage. You can cite the document it comes from, like you might in a bibliographical footnote.
o Do actual bibliographical footnotes
o If the research document is not a PDF or other format that is view-only in Scrivener, split the document you are linking to around your desired destination passage, then link to the document containing the passage you are linking to.
o Link to the research document, and add a specific highlight color to the link as well as to the research document’s text. That way, you have a visual queue telling you what text is relevant. This of course requires that the research document is able to be highlighted (usually with an external program).

Thank you for the suggestions! I can totally work with creating footnotes through Inspector.

I’m working on a large project, so this solution is ideal - in fact, it’s better than linking text between documents because it’s less disruptive.

Thank you very much!

Rahul