Long-time Scriv user but new to Compile

I’m a long time Scriv user but this is my first time trying to compile an ebook. I just compiled a short story, saved it to the desktop, see it there but when I click on it, I get a file that appears to be empty (no text, no cover) & is locked. Is the empty-appearing, locked file the correct, expected result? If so, how can I read the file & see if I want to do any tweaking?

It seems odd to me but since I can’t find any reference to the appearance of the compiled story, I don’t know if I’m on the right track. I followed the instructions given on the Novel template (also tried short story template with same result). Thanks for your advice.

Hmm.

Have you tried compiling to a text format like RTF? Epubs insert another layer – the epub reader software – between Scrivener’s output and you, so simplifying things might be a quick way to make sure that Scrivener’s compile options are set appropriately.

Katherine

Thanks, Katherine. I originally created the files in Scriv–isn’t that the simplest way to compile? I hesitate to add another layer since I don’t know what happened (if anything) & am afraid to introduce another element. Am I being too cautious?

With e-books you need special software to read them. It may be you don’t have anything installed on your computer that can properly read the format but something else is unsuccessfully trying to open it anyway. In most cases, at any rate, an e-book will appear to be “locked” because e-book reader software just does that: reads e-books. You need special programs to edit them. I’m not aware of anything on the Mac that can edit a Mobi without a computer science degree, but for ePub files there is Sigil which is about as complicated as an easy-to-use web site editor. I recommend Calibre for testing and viewing your e-books.