Looking for other writers with Dystonia

Hi and Happy New Year!

I hope this is the place to look for others like myself. I’m a european writer with a few published short stories behind me and way too many ideas for new ones. Unfortunately I also have some specific challenges regarding how to physically write since I am the happy owner of a type of dystonia called Spasmodic Torticollis. It litterally, physically blocks my writing.

For eksampel I relax more in the back and shoulders when I’m leaning back about 30 degrees, but my arms stiffen and cramp more. When I sit upright arms are relaxed but I can only sit for about 20 minutes due to backpain. On the other hand, when I manage to write without thinking too much about pains the writing seems to fascilitate even less pain. Saucy.

The thing is I’m really tired of thinking about all this instead of writing the blasted ideas down :twiste:
Really there is only so much material in your own disabilities.

So I was wondering if other writers out there with some sort of Dystonia has non-medical advice I could benefit from.

Sorry about poor spelling. I’m not from around here.

• Mattie

Mattie, Hiya!
Welcome aboard Scrivener (which, some would say, “You could live to regret it! :open_mouth:”).

You’d be surprised at just how many of Scriv’s crew are coping with one kind of disability or another. However, your reference to Spasmodic Torticollis, is the first time I’ve seen it mentioned.
Are you familiar with: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sensory_trick ?

Have you considered using some kind of dictation software, like: nuance.com/dragon/index.htm ?

Hope you find the kind of help you’re seeking :wink:
Take care
Vic

Hi Vic

This is great! I’m in good company then.

I have heard about the sensory trick but haven’t used it yet. Yes, I already use some dictation units but don’t know that software yet. Will look into all of it, thanks!

• Mattie

Hi there,