Looking for some reassurance - research student

Hi I’m new here I’ve intensively used scrivener for the first time today. (still on trial). Getting the gist of things. Seems pretty powerful, and I think generally people here are pleased with the tool. I am about to start a phd (social science/management) so I am looking for a tool to help me structure my research and write. I know one big word document will become a mess in about five minutes.

I’ve got a few questions, firstly, I am a bit nervous about committing such a big project to a tool I have never used before. IF it goes wrong how painful is it to back out and switch to something like (shudder) word?

I use Mendeley as a reference manager at the moment, I see no issue with continuing with this.

My immediate task is of course the good old-fashioned literature review do you have any tips on setting up your workflow using scrivener for this purpose?

I know that is a lot of questions. I have made some good in roads into using the tool today. Got my first 20 papers imported that I intend to review and do notes from. I’m hoping I can use meta tags etc to categorise and create links. I don’t really want to get overwhelmed with too many other tools.

Thank you Zoe

If you haven’t already, I’d recommend taking a look at our Interactive Tutorial, available from the Help menu. It’s a good overview of Scrivener’s fundamental operations.

It’s technically very easy to get your work out of Scrivener. You can use the Export command to dump the entire contents of the project into a folder. It’s important to understand, though, that doing so will give you one individual file for each item in the Binder. Whether that is “easy” to transfer to Word will depend on how far along you are. Personally, I would find manually assembling several dozen (or several hundred!) component documents into a single Word file somewhat tedious.