Losing chapters when trying to compile/export

Hi,

This is my first time trying to compile/export a document from Scrivener. I’ve finally finished my novel revisions but I can’t seem to manage to get my document to export correctly. I can only seem to make the entire thing to show up if I compile in Original Format. If I try to change it to novel format or make any other changes the contents of the first two chapters completely disappear in both the preview PDF and the exported copies. It still shows those chapters are selected. The text box is checked for each. I just can’t figure out how to export everything without losing formatting and having to start over in Word. I’d rather not do that, but this is making me crazy.

Please help!

It sounds like you’re probably just not compiling the text for the type or level of those first couple documents. The “Original” preset for compile includes text for all types at all levels, but the others change things up a bit, based on the project template designs. If you could post a screenshot of your binder and of your settings under the “Formatting” tab of compile (click the triangle button to the right of the “Format As” drop-down menu if you don’t see that), it would help figure this out specifically.

I’m imagining you have something like this:

In that case, the first to chapters are written directly in the folder (since folders can be both containers and documents), and since the format settings don’t include the text for folders, only the title, the contents of those chapters won’t be included in the compiled manuscript. Make sure you’ve got all the necessary boxes checked in that “text” column.

Yes! I think you’re probably right. That is exactly how it looks with the first two chapters being folders. I figured it was something simple like that that I was overlooking but I also knew I could try to pinpoint it for hours, unsuccessfully. Thanks so much! :slight_smile: