Losing Scrivener regularly

I’m fairly new to Scrivener, which is on my Windows 7 laptop. Recently I bought an additional Windows 10 laptop to write on (but didn’t install Scrivener on it as I didn’t want to risk corrupting it.) Instead, I write in Word and then email the work over to my main laptop and paste into Scrivener there.
Since doing so, I keep getting the following scenario. I open Scrivener, only to get a message saying that Scrivener cannot be found. Obviously, the first time I panicked! Fortunately I save to Dropbox in a back up file, so learned how to extract the info from this and go to the last backup. But this keeps happening!
Can anyone shed any light on why it should be, and how to stop it?
Many thanks,
Susie

Where do you keep your Scrivener projects, and how do you start Scrivener when you get that message?

Scrivener the application cannot be found, or individual Scrivener projects?

Katherine

I keep my projects backed up to Dropbox, so when I get that message I go to Dropbox, extract the file and I’m back in Scrivener.

Um, I’m a bit of a technophobe and can’t remember the exact words of the message, but basically every time I click on the Scrivener icon on my desktop, this message comes up saying it can’t be found. I only have one project in it.

Yes, but where do you save your live projects?

Sorry, Lunk, I’m not sure I understand your question (being a technophobe!) - when I’m working in Scrivener I just hit File/Save every now and again and when I close it, it automatically backs up to Dropbox.

You don’t have to hit Save. Scrivener saves automatically every time you stop writing for a few seconds.

The destination of your backups is set in your Scrivener settings. When you close Scrivener it saves the project to the place where you decided to save it, when you created the project.

Open Scrivener from the Start menu, choose File in the menu and you should see the project at the top of the list of recent projects