Lost A Major Amount Of A Story I Was Writing

Hi,

So recently, I was working on a project on the scrivener app (Ipad). I was on the page for a document, and then went to another document and copied it. I went back to the document I was on, and accidentally clicked on the unstylized paste button. This completely erased the document I was working on, and when I was about to undo it, realized the button associated with undoing something like that was greyed out.

Essentially, I deleted a large portion of the text I was working on, and have no idea how to get it back. I’m really new to scrivener, and I don’t know if there’s a way to get it back.

Sincerely,

Cognitive

The standard method for undoing an action in iOS is to shake the device. I don’t know if this works in Scrivener on iPad as I’ve never tried it.

https://developer.apple.com/design/human-interface-guidelines/ios/user-interaction/undo-and-redo/

COGnitive,

You must have done something else in between the Paste and the Undo attempt. For example, you switched to viewing a different document (maybe did something there) and then came back to the trouble doc and tried to Undo.

I 'm pretty sure this is a general fact in iOS: If you step away from a text field area that you’ve been editing, Apple’s built-in Undo function won’t know what to undo.

gr

P.S. Perhaps you have a backup of your project somewhere that would have the relevant text still intact?

The last backup my iPad took was before I installed scrivener. That would be the only thing it would’ve had a backup to.

So there isn’t any other way of retrieving the paragraphs I lost? Does scrivener automatically save every so often?

There is no real notion of “saving” on iOS. When you edit a document, you are, well, really changing that document. Alternatively you could conceive of it as, yes, automatically saving — every few seconds — but of course that is not helpful to your recovery effort,