Love Scrivener - back to the roots

After six months of extensively using Scrivener for Windows and also going through the upgrade I thought it was finally time to sign up to this forum and share my thoughts about Scrivener.

What can I say other than I LOVE IT (sorry for the shout). I’m not a professional writer, I am just writing stuff for me, so my insights will not be like those of the many professional writers out there, but hear me out first.

I have been writing with word-processing software for my own amusement since the mid 1980s, back then on the first versions of MS-Word in the good old MS-DOS times on a PC. Believe it or not, most of my texts from back then still exist and sit on my harddrive today, obviously converted into more recent file formats, but heck, they survived. Which in itself is a lot more than I can say about my paper manuscripts from before that time (which most of them were not worth saving anyway).

But I am disgressing. Those were the times, when there was no graphical user interface, my monitor back then was a small screen with a black backdrop and four (4!) different shades of amber and later green could be displayed on it. That was it folks. Writing and formatting a text was an anlogy to writing on a typewriter and I liked that, because it was impossible to be side-tracked (well, not entirely impossible, but pretty difficult) by the user interace, different formating options and well, the internet.

So when I first heard about Scrivener on a Mac, back in 2010 I think, I wanted to have it. No questions asked. Only problem then was that I am a sworn to god Windows user (I have used the various flavours of windows for the last 20+ years) and I don’t like the closed Mac environment much, but that’s personal preference no more than that.