Mac Scrivener switching to Windows

Hi everyone,

I apologise firstly if this has been asked, but I can’t seem to find a thread that addresses my particular issues.

I have been using Scrivener on my Macbook since about 2013 - and it’s been great, and I have loved using it. I paid for it and can’t think of a better way to keep track of my writing.

However, now I have a Windows desktop computer. My Macbook is getting old (it’s almost 5 years old now!), and getting VERY slow. I want to get all the work I’ve done on my Macbook Scrivener over to my Windows computer.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I have to buy Scrivener for my Windows desktop? (I’d really like to not have to pay for it again!). Is there a way to get my paid Macbook version onto my Windows desktop? My Macbook is getting far too old, so I’m unlikely to continue using Scrivener on it anymore
  2. How do I get all the stuff that is currently on my Macbook Scrivner over to my Windows desktop? Can I just copy the files and put them somewhere on my Windows desktop?

Any help or tips is greatly appreciated. Again sorry in advance if this question has been asked before. Also sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forums - you can see my dilemma though!

Thank you in advance.

Welcome to the Scrivener forums, soulbutterfly.

As regards your first question, the answer is yes. There’s no way to put your paid Macbook version on to your Windows desktop - they’re entirely different and separately developed pieces of software - and you have to pay again, although currently there’s a discount for what’s called “cross-grading” i.e. buying a licence for the second platform. This explains why you have to pay a second time, and how to obtain the discount.