MacOS not syncing from iOS

I’ve been working almost exclusively on my iPad for a couple of months and just today discovered that my synced files are not going to my Mac for some reason. I’ve updated Scrivener to the most recent version and made sure my iOS app is up to date as well.

I tried updating one of the files and syncing it from my iPad while I had my Mac up and waiting to catch the sync, and it never showed up on the Dropbox list of updated files even though I did get the pop-up that files had changed. The sync is working just fine between iOS devices, with the updates coming to my iPhone with no issue. Has anyone had an issue like this?

Possible reasons:

1. the iOS project could be in the On My iPad section, not the Dropbox section.
  2. Dropbox settings in iOS Scrivener could point to a different Dropbox folder than the one where you’re expecting it on the Mac
  3. you could be signed in to Dropbox with different userIDs on the Mac vs iOS
  4. you may not be running Dropbox on the Mac at all
  5. your WiFi could be inactive (unlikely, or you wouldn’t be here)

Other than #1 above, it’s all about Dropbox and WiFi, not Scrivener. I saw a user failing on #3 an #4 both, after swearing to me she had them correct.

If Dropbox is running but didn’t give you notice that anything changed in the project, double-check #1, #2, and #3.

Thank you for giving me some ideas to begin working with. I haven’t managed to fix it yet, but it also seems to only be impacting some files. Some of them open just fine, others give me the error message about a conflict. I opened one that had the correct last version available (which should not have had a conflict as I had been syncing and fully closing Scrivener many times on my iPad since it was last opened) so I went ahead and resolved the conflict. It now syncs back and forth just fine. But I’m reluctant to use that fix on the files that have a ‘latest version’ that’s over a month old and missing a lot of work.