Male pattern baldness

Oh. My. God. I’ve just shaved my hair on a number 2, which I haven’t done since I was around 20. Suddenly I realised it’s a [i]lot[/o] thinner that I ever noticed when it was longer. Please, those with male pattern baldness, make a 35-year-old feel better about his impending life of not much hair… :slight_smile:

Well…

You could try not writing as much code. All the programmers I know are bald, but all the ops guys and managers have hair. Could be a coincidence. Could be too late.

Welcome to the club! :smiley:

I’ve been shaving my head since 2001, when it finally just started getting too thin to look any good with a normal hairstyle.

I used to have hair halfway down to my waist (vive la heavy metal), but every male on my father’s side of the family is bald as a coot, so I knew it couldn’t last. I’d been steeling myself for it since I was about 15 years old :wink: And I cut off the long hair in the mid-90s anyway, just going with short back and sides for a few years until The Great Receding began.

Anyway; you’re in good company! Just remember, baldness is a symptom of excess testosterone. Grah!

A man over 35 whose hair isn’t thinning/receding tends to look less… manly. Every woman will tell you that.

I had ne’er a shred of hair loss until 35++ and began to think I was condemned to look like one of my Welsh aunties, until, fortunately, I discovered one day that my hairline was more or less the same but had move northward an inch or so. Since then it has been on a Ranulph Fiennes-style Great Polar Trek and I am profoundly relieved. I mean what looks worse than some old guy with a full bouffant barnet?

Comb overs. Hands down. Even a (good) rug is better than a comb over.

Katherine

:slight_smile: Thanks!