Margin-based comment colours in MS Word

Hi there.

As usual, many thanks to the Scrivener team for an amazing piece of software. I’ve been using it every day now for a couple of years and still love it…

I’ve been tinkering about trying to find a way to get compiled comments (in .rtf format) to display in the margins in Word in the same colour they are in Scrivener. I’m trying to do this because I have different colour-categorisation of comments, e.g., red for structural issues, green for research issues.

When I compile though, all comment colours get over-written with the colour preference in Word. Given the preferences in Word seem to allow for only one colour for comments I’m starting to think what I’m trying to do can’t be done. I know something similar could be achieved by exporting to inline comments, but that doesn’t really work for me…I’m after margin-placed comments.

Does anyone know how I might achieve this? Or if there’s another solution I’ve missed that might achieve the same result? What I’m after is a printable document with colour coded comments in the margin…

Cheers,
Matt.

Hi Matt,

There’s no way of doing this, and I don’t think it’s a possibility, either. The trouble is that comments are saved in RTF using the RTF \annotation tag, and this tag has no colour element that can be applied to it - it can contain the author name and some other information, but no colour. So I believe the colour comments are displayed in are entirely up to the receiving application (Word giving comments different colours depending on author).

All the best,
Keith

Hi Keith.

Thanks for your quick reply and, again, thanks so much for all the work on Scrivener. It’s brilliant.

Cheers,
Matt.