Marketing questions... now what?

Haven’t been round of late, working on finishing the first draft of my non-fiction book and getting my marketing materials in shape.

This is my first attempt at non-fiction, shaped by the fact that heavy weight is given to one’s expertise in the area one is writing about. My book is a cat care book, which springs from my 25 years of experience in cat rescue.

We acquired a new kitten a month ago (I’m planning to write him off as a business expense!:)) and a blog I started to show farflung friends his baby pictures turned into an online forum for my ideas.

If the blog takes off, is this something I can mention in my marketing efforts? How big does it have to be? And how best can I use this internet resource to get noticed by agents and publishers?

Any ideas about copyright issues or getting my blog noticed is greatly appreciated!

wayofcats.blogspot.com

And, of course, if you like cats, I very much want to know what you think.

From what I understand from my publisher, blogs are becoming a significantly more
important marketing enhancement. I’ve also been told that whereas the conventional
wisdom used to be that you didn’t market a book before the book actually existed, a
number of authors have had success using blogs to foreshadow upcoming books.
It’s important to remember, though, that blogs are still only part of the mix.

I’ve been documenting my own experiences marketing my new book Think Better in
another thread of this forum I’m a Writer > Think Better. You may find something
of interest there.

All the best,

Tim

I launched the Hot Topic blog in April - the book followed in August. The blog supports the book by making references (see Notes & Sources) clickable , and forces me to keep up to date with the subject. Also good as a way of building a profile (for punditry), and as research for the next book… Gives me some idea of my readership, and builds contacts with key players.