Missing Format Toolbar

My Format Toolbar is missing from the top of the document editor. I was not making any Options changes, just editing a text file.
I checked Tools, Customize Toolbars, and I see it in the box. I checked Restore Defaults and that didn’t help. I turned the toolbars on and off via View, Toolbars - no change.
I exited and reopened Scrivener, even rebooted my PC and nothing helped.

You probably just accidentally toggled this off with the Alt+Right keyboard shortcut. You can restore it the same way or via Format > Show Format Bar.

Ah HA! Thank you so much. I’m a Scrivener newbie (just started using it last night), and I was going NUTS trying to find it.

This has happened to me A LOT, as I tried to use Alt+Right or Alt+Left to go forward or backward among documents, with reflexes trained by browsers and some other software. I finally learned to use the little arrows below the format bar for this purpose, but I really do think it’s a bit of an interface design flaw. To me, Alt+Right and Alt+Left are not intuitive for displaying and hiding toolbars, and, as I say, they’ve become reflexive for other purposes. (Perhaps these intuitions are different for Mac users.) Somewhere far, far down the list of possible changes, I would love it if this could be altered.

The shortcuts have actually already been removed from toggling the toolbars for the next release, but you can remove them yourself in 1.6.1 in the Keyboard pane of Tools > Options and can reassign them to other commands if you wish.