Mixed languages and lost project

Hello,
Although I’m new to Scrivener, I work on Windows for many years and as a technical translator I had to train using all kind of software.
But here I get to problems I can’t figure out.
At first I choose to set Scrivener to French because I write in French but discovering that the manual is in English I reverted to English.
“Babillard” for Corkboard is nice but it’s Canadian French and means “bulletin board" (to communicate with others.)
But now the Binders shows the two languages mixed together. Well, mostly French.
Should I reinstall in English maybe (French spelling control works fine) ?
The second problem: When reopening a project from the file menu, it was empty.
The best I could find in the backups was an empty project when opening Scrivener, with 2 other Scrivener windows of the Binders I made but without text.
All the files I wrote are in the Files folder of the project.
In short:

• Project in S is empty (even the binder)
  • Another S-window from backup shows the complete binder but no files.
  • Files exist as i.e. “4.rtf”.
    My mistake could be that I mixed the project files of several test projects before tying more serious work.
    Totally convinced that Scrivener is a good and useful tool, I decided to buy it. But if I could get some clue on these problems it would help me to work with more peace of mind.
    All my thanks,
    Bernard.

Hi Bernard, and welcome to the forums! Sorry you’ve been having some trouble with the language interface. Thanks for the note about the translation for Corkboard. Do you have a suggestion for a better term to replace it? I’ll make a note of it for an update if so.