Multi platform issues?

Hi all,

I’m not completely sure this is the right forum for this, but it doesn’t seem to fit anywhere else.

New to Scrivener (used the free trial briefly after the last NaNoWriMo) and I’m thinking of starting up writing again. I have a couple of questions about using Scrivener:

1. How easy is it to switch back and forth between versions? I travel for a living, and I’ll be using a Windows workstation while on the road (since I don’t prefer to carry two laptops with me when I travel) but a Mac at home. Is there complete functional compatibility between the versions?
  2. How easy is syncing the package back and forth going to be? I’ve read about some issues with using iCloud in the forum…does this extend to Dropbox/Skydrive?
  3. Do I get a price break by buying one of each version or is it full price for both?

Thanks,

crr

1. How easy is it to switch back and forth between versions? I travel for a living, and I’ll be using a Windows workstation while on the road (since I don’t prefer to carry two laptops with me when I travel) but a Mac at home. Is there complete functional compatibility between the versions?
Broadly speaking, yes. With the recent additions of Inspector comments and footnotes, the Win version is pretty close. You won’t be able to play with any custom meta-data on the Win version, and you might have to make a couple of allowances in the use of placeholder tags because of the wider range of compile options that are currently available on the Mac, but basically the compatibility is great.

Also worth mentioning is that Lit’n’Lat are working towards feature parity, so this will become even less of an issue as time goes by.

A couple of things you might notice switching between platforms:

• You might get some font changes in your manuscript when you switch platforms (even if you have the same font installed on both machines).