Multi-project search?

Hi, new user loving it so far. Wondering whether there is a way to make Scrivener search across multiple projects? It doesn’t seem like a trivial programing challenge, but I’m not a programmer anymore, so I don’t know.

Reason I ask, is that I copy and paste all my notes into TB/Twig, so that I can search them. I would prefer not to put all my journal/notes entries into a single Scrivener project, but I like the interface better than TB or Twig and would use it for notes if only I could search them easily.

Thx. --Dan

Hi Dan,

The trouble with this is that Scrivener projects are just files on the file system, and can be stored anywhere. So to implement this, I’d pretty much have to reinvent Spotlight. Well, not quite… But it would require Scrivener to have a window unconnected to projects which then searched the entire file system for .scriv files, and then searched each file, and then somehow brought those results up in a meaningful manner - that would be very tricky, to put it mildly. You can already search .scriv files using Spotlight, and I’m not sure any interface I could build on top of that would help an awful lot (without taking many months of development).

All the best,
Keith

P.S. Welcome aboard, glad you’re liking Scriv so far!

But Devonthink, for instance, has a multi-database search. All DT databases which are open can be searched simultaneously. It would be interesting to know how exactly this has been made possible.

A large* team of dedicated** programmers? 8)

[size=85]

• in number, not in stature
    ** not to say Keith’s not dedicated[/size]

I didn’t say it wasn’t possible, I said it was difficult and not something I feel would add much over Spotlight in Scrivener’s case. Also, you hit the nail on the head - DevonThink is a database, and thus is built and optimised for this sort of thing. It also stores its databases in set places, if I recall correctly.