Naive iCloud Question

I’m not a programmer and I’m sure this has been considered - but my curiosity has been nagging at me.

If windows saves scrivener files as a directory, why not save macOS scrivener files as a directory as well instead of a doc bundle, would that not avoid the iCloud syncing problem that the bundle causes?

On a macOS machine the format is called a “package” (not a “bundle”). In Finder they “look” and are presented to the user as a single file, but that an illusion. One can use Finder to see the package contents as folders and files. A package is a suggestion to the user to NOT meddle with it.

Apple’s iCloud very likely sees a package as the folders and files that it is and it is very unlikely that packages are a cause of its unreliability. Only Apple might know and they appear not to be keen on improving it.

I use Dropbox with Scrivener and it just works and i can focus energy on my writing not trying to bend iCloud to my will.

The project format is identical on both platforms. It is just displayed differently on Mac OS.

Since iCloud is an Apple product, and “packages” are an Apple-created mechanism, it’s really up to Apple to figure out how to manage them correctly. (As, for instance, Dropbox seems able to do.)

1 Like

Storage in cloud services is the same for Mac packages (not bundles) and Windows folders, and the packages do not cause iCloud sync problems. The package format prevents many of the errors Windows users frequently commit:

• moving the .scrivx XML (Binder) file somewhere outside the project
  • saving Compiled documents inside the project
  • saving zip files inside the project
  • messing with project innards you shouldn’t mess with
  • generally forgetting the project is a folder, not a file

et cetera. It would be far better for everyone if Windows had a similar package format.

2 Likes