[NB] I guess I'm old--I'm not adapting to the new compile at all

I’ve been using Scrivener for windows for 2 or 3 years now and I love it, My laptop is a Mac, however, due to some software I needed to run. I’d really like to be able to switch back and forth between desktop and laptop and so I was over the moon when I heard that ver 3 for Windows would allow that.

But the new compile–I can’t get it to do anything I want it to do. I tried ver.3 out with a short novel, just to see what it would be like, and I can’t even send what I’m getting out of it to my beta reader. I’m literally sitting here going, “Thank heavens it’s only 40 chapters” because I’m looking at copying it over into the old Scrivener so I can get a usable file. I’ve searched the forum here and haven’t found anything that will help me make the leap from old Windows version to Beta. Am I jumping the gun on the compile function? (I thought I read something about the coding not being complete on that, but I can’t find it now to check the dates.)

On a related note, the two compile menus are so very, very different that it would be greatly appreciated if someone could come up with a walkthrough for people who’ve never used the Mac compiler, which everything I’ve been able to find seems to indicate is a prerequisite for getting a handle on this one.

Thanks. Love the software, best thing that ever happened to me. :slight_smile:

Have a look at this post, which references the Updating v2 to v3 Guide.

literatureandlatte.com/foru … =2&t=53378

It’s focus is Mac, but structurally Windows beta compile should be the same.

That said, you are correct in that beta compile is still a work-in-progress. That is clearly stated in the latest release notes.

HTH,

Jim

Thanks for the link,Jim.