need a Cross-Reference for Research items

As a non-fiction writer, I make extensive use of Research items. A single Research item may be referenced in multiple Documents.

However, for any particular Research item, I have no way of determining which Documents have references to it without going through a manual check of every Document to see if the Meta-Data pane indicates a reference. It is important to know where a Research item is used, especially if the Research is revised and I need to go back and make updates to my Documents. There should be a more efficient process to display these associations.

I would greatly appreciate the ability to select a Research item, and then click on a new feature called “Show References” that will list the Documents which contain references to it.

I would also request this new feature be given priority for the Windows version (which I use) as I suspect that most non-fiction writers use the Windows platform, and Research is critical for non-fiction.

Thanks in advance!

Completely OT

Why?

It’s called the “false consensus effect” – see:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/False-consensus_effect

It seems to appear very often in posts on the Wish List!

If I were the OP I would use bibliographic software, like EndNote (I don’t know what else is available for Windows – for the Mac there are also Sente and Bookends, not to mention BibDesk. Zotero is probably cross-platform, as perhaps is Mendeley). I can’t imagine doing serious research without a bibliographical database (I use Sente nowadays) – and, of course, I do it on a Mac :smiley: – in the fields of psychology and history.

Cheers, Martin (BA Hons, MSc, PhD, MBPsS :smiley: ).