Need some Scrivener functionality, but...

LIke many here, I suppose that I’m a non-linear writer: I write, write something tangential, write something tangential to that, capture some media for subsequent inclusion, and then, as I go, as well as at the end, I pull it all together until re-editing it. My questions are these.

My work involves proposals with multiple media (long, complex documents) and memoranda (like proposals). I use and hate Word. Scrivener would seem to be ideal for my purposes—except for its templates suggest creative writing usage and so does its compilation. I don’t want to compile a product that’s a screenplay. With all this said, Scrivener is a thing of beauty and I’m looking for justification to buy it. (It’s more than that.)

Does anyone use Scrivener as I plan to? Any advice you could pass on or posts that you could refer me to? I’d appreciate it very much and have a compulsion to reciprocate well.

Warmly,
Dr. Evan Stark PhD,
AKA, “Ev.”

Hi Ev,

I’ve used Scriv for about 18 months now. My first project was a non-fiction, business book. I can honestly say that without Scrivener it’s unlikely I would have been able to finish it. I had started the project in Word and was becoming increasingly frustrated. After several months of sporadic progress, I imported my growing Word doc into Scrivener, created discreet and manageable chapter-based documents by using the Split at Selection feature, imported all, or most of, my research files, and completed the book in about four months.

Since then I have been using Scrivener to plan five more projects and begin work in earnest on one — this one a business fable, which combines both fiction and non-fiction elements. The other projects are in various proposal and development stages, possibly not dissimilar to the output you need to generate.