Need Your Advice on My Workflow

I use Scrivener to write books. I prefer to write in MultiMarkdown.

Here’s what I need once I am done:

• Word version for my editor
  • PDF version for my readers (I want a beautifully designed version.)
  • Printed pages for the printer
  • eBook formats (Kindle, Nook, Kobo, and Smashwords)

What should be my workflow? Should I Compile for Microsoft Word for my editor? Should I then take the Word document into inDesign and export for the physical and various eBook formats?

Should I reconsider writing in MultiMarkdown? Maybe I need to format a bit in Scrivener and just compile the ebook formats from there?

I’d be grateful for any advice you have.

Scrivener itself can create all of those formats directly, although you may need another tool to achieve a “beautifully designed” PDF. Conversely, I’m not a MultiMarkdown expert, but none of your destination formats seem to require any of MMD’s unique strengths.

My own baseline is to do everything possible in Scrivener. Faced with your particular needs, I would do some experimenting with test projects up front: trying to create 5+ different formats from a book length manuscript under a tight deadline isn’t going to be fun with any tool, so I’d want to estimate how much time to build into the schedule, familiarize myself with the Compile options, work out any kinks, etc.

Katherine

I think MultiMarkdown is perfectly viable for all of these, though some may require a little more work than others (than perhaps using Scrivener vanilla formatting; but then one must also factor in whether using vanilla formatting is more efficient than MMD, if you prefer the latter—personally I’d rather work in an environment that is creatively compatible and undergo a little extra stress at the end of the creative phase, than compromise the creative environment for a slightly easier export).