New, baffled and unhappyhttp://www.literatureandlatte.com/fo

I am new to Scrivener, having got it as a birthday gift. I downloaded the paid version, tried my hand with the tutorial, felt deflated and ended up Purchasing two books on Scrivener.

The problem came with importing my WIP, a fantasy novel, from word. The first three chapters came into Scrivener indented and with no space for new paragraph. That was fine. Beginning with chapter four and through chapter forty-nine, however, it switched to no intents but a space between paragraphs.. I was not happy, but I figured by the time I finished my novel (perhaps 10 more chapters) I would be knowledgeable enough with Scrivener to be able to make everything consistent.

Then the fun began! Chapter fifty was the first chapter I started on Scrivener. It began with indents for new paragraph and a space between paragraphs. Also, I no longer had “straight quotes” which I had always had and there were weird spacings between words. It was all very distracting to my writing.

I tried Format> Convert> Quotes to Straight Quotes, but it only changes the ones I had highlighted before making the change. When I start the next quote, it has again reverted to regular quotes. I can’t do anything about the spacings between words. The only thing I was able to do was manually move the ruler to zero to remove the indent. The problem is I then have to manually put the extra space after the new paragraph.

I guess my overall general complaint is “why does Scrivener have to turn a natural learning curve into a learning cliff?” I don’t have time to write and scale that cliff of difficulties every single day. Please give me some hope that I can make the basic changes in my formatting simply by finding the right screen where I can then push the right button. I need help!!!

It shouldn’t actually matter how your writing looks inside scrivener… You override all of this on compile, font, spacing, indents all are rationalised at compile time