New computer showing outdated versions of files

Hello! I have been using a MacBook Air since October 2020. I just bought an iMac. After setting up my desktop, I noticed that several of my “text” files inside Scrivener are outdated versions. At the end of every writing day, I export anything I worked on and email it to myself. The completed version in my email does not match the versions inside scrivener. Can anyone help me figure out how this happened, how to recover previous versions, and how to prevent this in the future? Thank you!

You opened an earlier version of the project. How did you get dates on individual files inside the project package?

What do you mean “versions inside Scrivener?” The Recent Projects menu? That’s not a reliable indicator of whether a project exists, especially on a new or recently updated system.

You can locate all projects on your computer by searching for .scriv files in Finder.

You can also locate Scrivener’s automatic backups by going to Scrivener → Preferences → Backups and opening the backup folder in Finder.

1 Like

“Versions inside Scrivener” meant that the exported document did not match the document that was written in the Scrivener program that I originally exported and emailed to myself. I just watched a YouTube video on setting up Scrivener to synch/save inside a Dropbox folder and now I’m getting the error message saying my file is stored in an incorrect location every time I open the project from inside Dropbox. Any suggestions on how to fix that?

@lunk I am not referring to dates on the files, I’m sorry for the confusion!

Thank you both for the reply!