New to Scrivener - a few questions

Hi all,

I’m new to Scrivener and still trying to find my way around. I mainly use it to write articles that will be published on the Web, because (among other things) I find it useful to keep track of all my sources in one place.

I have a few questions:

a) Can I change the name of the highlight colors?

b) I have created a custom template, but when I go to File > Compile I don’t see the file I want - not even in the dropdown menu. How do I do it? I want to include the “Story” file. I uploaded the template in this post for reference.

c) When I get stuck trying to fix a paragraph between the 2nd draft and the final revision, what I like to do is quickly brainstorm two or three different versions of the same paragraph to find new/better ways to express the same concept. What is the best way to keep all those versions of the paragraph conveniently at hand without cluttering the main working area? I tried inline comments and footnotes but I don’t really understand how they work.

Thank you!
Gizmag story.rar (148 KB)

Hi, and welcome!

a) Highlight names cannot be changed, but you can make yourself a cheat sheet to give them meaning in a project, c.f. this example.

b) Every Scrivener project has three special folders, by default called Draft, Research, and Trash. These can’t be deleted, don’t have their own text or meta-data, always sit at the root level of the binder, and probably have a few other special properties I can’t think of at the moment. The Draft folder in particular is special because it is built to contain all the documents you’re going to compile; or to flip that around, Scrivener looks in this folder to find the documents available for compile.