New To Scrivener

Hi,

I’m new to Scrivener and currently trying to evaluate it. Hopefully I have the right forum for this?

I’m about half way through my first attempted novel (it’s quite large for first novel and I realise I will have to reduce that otherwise it will end up close to 150K) and I have been using Microsoft Office 2010. That, I have realised, is probably a mistake; my novel is science fiction and I have done a lot of research and back story writing to support it so the project is big. It currently runs to 15 chapters and about 130 support documents, mainly Word RTF docs but also Excel spreadsheets, Visio diagrams, Inkscape files, images and text files. I have organised them in what is (for me) a fairly logical structure. I primarily use three machines to work on … my desktop, my laptop and my work laptop.

A friend of mine uses Scrivener, loves it, but I am still evaluating … I have been comparing it to PageFour and I already know that both have features I like. I using an office extender application which gives MS Office tabs so the fact that PageFour has similar tabs appeals to me as does the phrase comparison utility it has. Size isn’t everything; PageFour setup runs to 4MB, whilst Scrivener runs to nearly 70 and, though I believe Scrivener is a port from the Mac platform, I assume that reflects increased functionality. I know I’m new to this but, based on my limited experience so far, Scrivener appears to have more functionality than PageFour.